Skinny Stuffed Peppers

30 Sep

 

Stuffed Peppers brings me back to my childhood. My mom would make them all the time. Back then I ate the filling only. Today the bell pepper is just as tasty to me as the filling.

I  wanted to come up with a healthier version than the fattening, high carb Stuffed Peppers my mom use to make, so I replaced the rice with the much healthier quinoa along with a few other tweaks.

These may just be better than my moms. 🙂

Skinny Stuffed Peppers

6 1/2 Bell Peppers (Any color you like) – 6 to stuff and 1/2 (diced) to use for the stuffing. You can also use the tops (without the stem) if you like.

1/2 tbsp Grapeseed oil

1 Onion, medium, diced

1 Garlic, clove, minced

1 lb. extra lean Ground Beef

1 tbsp. 21 Seasoning Salute

1/4 tsp. Oregano

1/4 tsp. Basil

1/8 tsp. Pepper

1/2 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 14.5 oz. Can Diced Tomatoes

2/3 cup Quinoa

1 cup Water

1/2 Zucchini, diced

8 oz. can of Tomato sauce

6 tbsp. Shredded Mozzarella (1 tbsp per pepper), optional

Directions

Pre-heat oven 350 degrees

Cut the tops off the peppers and remove the seeds.

Heat grapeseed oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.

Add diced onion and diced bell pepper. Cook for a few minutes.

Add garlic, cook an additional minute.

Add ground beef, 12 seasoning salute, oregano, basil and pepper. Cook until browned.

Add Worcestershire sauce, diced tomatoes, quinoa and water. Bring to a boil them reduce heat and cover. Cook for 15 minutes.

Add diced zucchini and tomato sauce. Cook for 5 minutes.

Place Peppers in a shallow baking dish, fill with beef mixture.

Bake for 45 minutes.

If you’re adding cheese add 1 tbsp of cheese to each pepper the last 10 minutes of baking.

If you use a no-salt canned tomato sauce and/or diced tomatoes you may need to add a tiny bit of salt (to taste).

Without Cheese

Nutritional Info

  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 281.1
  • Total Fat: 14.6 g
  • Cholesterol: 52.2 mg
  • Sodium: 287.1 mg
  • Total Carbs: 18.7 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 3.1 g
  • Protein: 17.6 g
With Cheese
Nutritional Info
  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories: 301.1
  • Total Fat: 15.9 g
  • Cholesterol: 55.9 mg
  • Sodium: 329.6 mg
  • Total Carbs: 18.7 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 3.1 g
  • Protein: 19.6 g

 

5 Responses to “Skinny Stuffed Peppers”

  1. Rebecca R October 1, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    Yum! I’m so glad I came across your blog 🙂 I’m your newest follower and would love it if you could follow me back 🙂

    http://www.ifonlylifecouldbethatsimple.blogspot.com

  2. ktk502 October 1, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    These look Great!

    New follower here from the Sunday Funday Hop http://babyfeetandpuppybreath.blogspot.com/
    I follow you via FB & Twitter, couldn’t find your GFC, though.
    Hope you can stop by and follow me back, Thanks.

  3. Kelly October 2, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog http://truebluefansofthevampirediaries.blogspot.com/
    To answer your ? I am really liking The Secret Circle 🙂 I have not read the books, but that is usually how I feel-books are much better.

  4. Judy Haughton-James October 2, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    This looks so good! I love these peppers. They also add a lot of flavour to food. I am a new Follower of your Blog. I have added you on Twitter but I am also going to subscribe via email. Take care and have a good Sunday.
    Judy – http://judyh-jsthoughts.blogspot.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Skinny Stuffed Zucchini « - October 24, 2011

    […] you probably have noticed I love stuffed vegetables. Zucchini, Ground Turkey and Quinoa makes this dish a “good-for-you-and-your-family” […]

Leave a Reply

